101 in 1001

The Challenge:

Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.  I’m starting as of January 1st, 2013 and ending on September 28th, 2015.

The Criteria:

Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on your part).

Why 1001 Days?

Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple challenges such as New Year’s resolutions or a ‘Bucket List.’ The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organizing and timing some tasks such as overseas trips, study semesters, or outdoor activities.

The Key:

Italicized items are goals currently in progress, while bolded items are those that have been completed.

Christy’s 101 things in 1001 days

    1. Inspire someone else to do the 101 list – Yelena over at the blog “The Twenty-Something” check out her list 
    2. Create a savings account  (created savings account on Jan 2nd)
    3. Apply for a passport
    4. Pay off all my CC debt – as soon as my tax return gets here this will be done! 
    5. Travel outside the country
    6. Graduate from SFSU  – (enrolled in Fall 12 – should graduate Spring or Fall of 2014) 
    7. Get a big girl job
    8. Take the LSAT
    9. Apply to Law school
    10. Read 25 books for pleasure 3/25 – see my list of books here.
    11. Unplug for a weekend (phone and internet) minus what is needed when at work on that weekends
    12. Go camping
    13. Go Skinny dipping
    14. Visit a big city in the U.S.
    15. Throw a big party
    16. Buy the person behind me coffee or a meal
    17. Send a care package to someone in the military
    18. Send a care package to a friend
    19. Write personal letters to at least 5 people 0/5
    20. Get a minimum of 50 people to follow my blog between the blogs Facebook page and the blog directly  20/50
    21. Go a month without take out
    22. Have a no spend month (groceries, bills, emergencies only)
    23. Ride 1000 miles 34.45/1000 – see my logged miles below – check out this post about one of my rides!
    24. Go on a date 
    25. Fall in love again
    26. Dance in the rain
    27. Sing Karaoke in a bar
    28. Travel alone somewhere new at least over night purchased tickets to travel to So. Cal to see my sister compete in a National Dance Competition in March
    29. Volunteer at a soup kitchen or homeless shelter
    30. Watch the sunrise and sunset in the same day
    31. Go Wine tasting in Napa
    32. Jump off a cliff
    33. Train for and Run a 5k (I am not a fan of running so this will be a challenge for me)
    34. Have dinner by candle light
    35. Give a 100% tip
    36. Complete a 30 day photo challenge
    37. Create and Inspiration/dream wall in my kitchen
    38. Fill my frames with pictures of people I love
    39. Invest in blog business cards
    40. Have someone redesign my blog
    41. Be sponsored on my blog
    42. Organize and download all my photos from Facebook
    43. Attend a blogging conference
    44. Take a cooking or baking class
    45. Make 10 recipes from pinterest1/10 – Pasta tacos
    46. Do 5 DIY projects from pinterest
    47. Put all of my recipes together in a cookbook
    48. Do 10 things from Sosh.com 0/10
    49. Get straight A’s one semester
    50. Buy new pots and pans *make the investment
    51. Sponsor a child in a third world country
    52. Sponsor a Make a Wish Child
    53. Get a Tattoo
    54. Play Wii sports games for 30 days straight
    55. Buy and learn Photoshop
    56. Do Yoga for 30 days straight
    57. Go to a concert – Swedish House Mafia 2/14/13
    58. Identify 101 things that make me smile 10/101 – see my list here. 
    59. Record myself singing and share on Facebook and YouTube
    60. Write a letter to myself to open when I am 30
    61. Watch or re-watch all movies that got best picture in the past 10 years 0/10
    62. Put $10 into savings for everything completed on this list $30/$1010 
    63. Do the A-Z picture challenge
    64. Keep a line a day journal for 3 months
    65. Call my Mom/Dad/Stepmom/sister once a month for a year
    66. Write a blog post for every completed item on the list  2/101 see all posts about completed tasks by clicking on the task
    67. Have acupuncture done
    68. Go snowboarding – I love snowboarding but don’t get to go ever now that I live in California
    69. Go a one month without buying Coffee from Starbucks
    70. Attend a festival
    71. Give 20 just because gifts 0/20
    72. Have photos taken with family
    73. Have boudoir photos taken
    74. Go to Disney World – does Disney Land count?
    75. Grow a plant from a seed
    76. Donate to a cause or charity
    77. Send a post card to postsecrets.com
    78. Send 20 postcards through post crossings 0/20
    79. Answer the 50 questions to free my mind
    80. Ride my bicycle across the golden gate bridge 
    81. Do a full ride in Marin county
    82. Stay in a Bed and Breakfast
    83. Go to the zoo by myself
    84. Finish all desperate housewives episodes 57/180
    85. Hide a note in a book in my school library
    86. Go to the ballet
    87. Make myself a build a bear
    88. Put a scrapbook together of Rae and I to give to her at her graduation
    89. Send flowers to a friend just because
    90. Have a movie theater marathon: 3 movies 1 day
    91. Learn how to golf or at least go golfing once
    92. Order new checks
    93. Start reading the bible again
    94. Have a guest blogger
    95. Be a guest blogger
    96. Keep flowers in my apartment for a month straight or longer bought flowers on 1/17 , 1/28
    97. Go to a big San Francisco Event
    98. Try a new restaurant once a week for a month
    99. Write at least 24 vent letters and burn them 0/25
    100. Leave an operation beauty note somewhere 0/10
    101. Brush and Floss my teeth twice a day every day for a month straight – the goal is to keep up the routine – not sure why I have this on here I think its a cheater because I do this everyday unless I unexpectedly stay over at a friends house! 

This is an adventure I can’t wait to embark on and keep you up to date on.  I am starting my 2013 year off in a positive light that I can do anything I set my mind too.

I hope the new year has started off well for each of you. I would love to hear if you start up or are already participating in the 101 in 1001 Challenge.

101 things in 1001 days challenge!

Aside

6 thoughts on “101 things in 1001 days challenge!

  1. I stumbled across your blog and I really like your list! I am doing something similar to the 101 in 1001. I definitely recommend #51. It is such a rewarding experience. Good luck completing everything. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh, one more thing. RE: number 9 and applying to law school – I’m finishing up that process right now (getting acceptance letters and making final decisions), so if you have any questions, send me an email. I’m also planning on doing a blog post or ebook about the whole process, since as a first generation college student, I had no idea going in what to expect and read everything I possibly could on the subject (such a type-a nerd)! 😉 Good luck with your list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

