Adventure Wednesday's, Life

Adventure Wednesday’s (a day late…)

When I woke up yesterday, It hit me that it was the first day of my summer break. It hit me, that I didn’t have to get up and study all day, write a paper or read a boring text-book. It hit me, that I for the first time in a long time could do whatever I wanted.

Problem was, I had NO IDEA what to do.  I have this huge list of things I want to get done this summer (post on this tomorrow) but nothing on the list seemed appealing for my first day of Summer. So after laying in bed watching TV for way longer than I should have, I decided I was going to go on a walk.

My goal was to go on a walk and just think about life, my goals (for this summer and life in general), and to honestly just breathe some fresh air after what was a long stressful semester, fresh air sounded so appealing.  So my Adventure Wednesday is a recap of my walk yesterday.

This was no short walk around the block this was a 4 hour 6 mile walk and guess what? It was absolutely amazing!  I live in the center of San Francisco and I set out from my apartment towards the Pac Heights area of the city. What I really wanted to do was walk through that area looking at all the nice, expensive homes and drool a little bit. I did just that, sorry no pictures of any of the houses I liked (not sure why I didn’t pull my phone out).

After wandering around Pac Heights, I decided I wanted to see some nature so I wandered over to the Presidio. The Presidio is an old naval base that has been turned into a National State Park but also has housing that anyone can live in. It’s very woodsy and meant for the lovers of nature.

I just wandered through the trails breathing in the fresh air and taking in the beautiful views of nature. Next thing you know I had hit the ocean, which is about 5 miles from my apartment building.  Wow, I couldn’t and still can’t believe that I found myself at Baker Beach.  That’s right, Baker Beach is San Francisco’s only nude beach. No nudies yesterday though, as it was a tad bit nippy. It was just fascinating to me that I walked that far and was able to enjoy such beauty. Sometimes I think I really take nature for granted! 

Here are some pictures from my walk that show the beauty I saw yesterday:

2013-05-22 15.40.34 2013-05-22 15.48.51

2013-05-22 16.55.27  2013-05-22 16.55.23

After my walk I met up with some new girl friends for some drinks in the Haight and then I headed home. My first day of summer and Adventure Wednesday was well worth every moment. I day dreamed a lot, made mental to-do, want and need lists, and I focused on myself and who I want to be. Which leads me to my final thing today.

When I woke up this morning a friend had posted a TEDTalk on Facebook and said everyone in their twenties needed to watch it. The TEDTalk was titled “30 is not the new 20” and I’ve posted it below for you to watch.

 

I share this with you because like I said, while I was on my walk yesterday I thought a lot about myself and who I want to be, my goals, etc. Waking up and watching this video this morning just hit home for me. All the thoughts that were running through my head yesterday are things she was commenting on. This TEDTalk inspired me to keep at what I am doing, as well as, it opened my eyes to some of the situations I am dealing with. I’m 24 almost 25 so here is to the next 5 and 1/2 years to make the most of who I am going to be. 

Have you had any adventures lately? Share them with me in the comments below, I really love to hear others stories. 

Have a wonderful week! 

– C 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Adventure Wednesday’s (a day late…)

  1. Great post, Christy! That walk sounds amazing and I had a similar walking day just this past Tuesday. A walk does a lot of good for the body and mind and it’s becoming a less popular thing to do these days. I’m glad we’re bringing it back. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Rachelle! First of yes walks are amazing! I’ve been going on walks a lot lately but I realized sometimes Im so busy I don’t appreciate everything SF has to offer and by going on walks I am able to experience it all! Secondly, I miss you!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

