Life

Milestone Reached

MeGGbridge

Picture curitous of Bug (my sister) ~ Picture was taken in April 2012 a windy day (when I had bangs) ~

Today marks a huge milestone for me and I am so excited to share my excitement of reaching it with you. First I’d like to share a little about me to help y’all understand why this “milestone” is such a huge feet for me.

I was born in Portsmouth, VA, my Mom and Dad were in the Navy and based there. At the age of two, we drove cross-country and moved in with my grandparents in Enumclaw, WA. After living with them for a short stint, my parents got a place on their own but divorced shortly afterward, I was around the age of 4. My mom moved to California and remarried. I stayed with my Dad in Washington who also remarried to his High School sweetheart, when I was 5 or so.

Every school break, 3-day weekend and summer I would come to California and stay with my mom. It was the best part of my younger years, I got to go to California all the time, which was a dream for everyone I grew up with and not one that came true for many. So I was pretty rad because my mom lived in California.

My mom made it a habit that at the end of every summer trip, we would come new school clothes shopping in San Francisco and that was by far my favorite part of every summer. And it wasn’t because I was getting a rad new wardrobe it was because I was getting to go to San Francisco. This is where my “milestone” comes into play. After my first visit to the city I was in love and my heart was left in San Francisco. I made a promise to myself that before I died I would live IN San Francisco for at least 6 months of my life.

So to continue on with my quick life story, about a year after graduating High School, I moved to California to live with my mom and start my adult “grown up” life. I made it to Davis and Sacramento and that was as close as I was getting to San Francisco, unless I was taking a day trip to the city.

As the years passed, the dream of living in SF never faded away. It was always there in the back of my head. However, I was starting to begin to think of it as only ever being a dream and not ever becoming reality. The way things were moving along in my life didn’t place me ever-living in San Francisco.

It had been about 4 years that I had been living in California and I was about to transfer from a community college to a state college. It had been recommended to me that for my Major (Communication) that I apply to San Francisco State.  I was a little hesitant at first because my life (relationship, and job wise) was all in the Sacramento area and I was comfortable there. But one day it hit me, that this was my opportunity to make my dream come true. So I applied to San Francisco State, along with Sacramento State (wasn’t getting my hopes up).  But when my letter arrived in January last year saying I had been excepted to SF State, I was on cloud 9.

In June last year I packed my bags and moved to the bay area for school.  I moved to Daly City which was right outside of SF city limits and close to campus. It wasn’t the greatest place to live but it was convenient for school. As of this month, I have been living in the bay area for a year.

BUT, today marks my 6th month living IN San Francisco.  On December 10th, I moved into a small studio apartment in the Tenderloin district of San Francisco City, to be closer to my friends and job at the time. So today June 10th, marks my milestone. I turned my dream into a reality. I have lived in SF for 6 months.  I have absolutely continued to fall in love with this city. There are so many wonderful people, things to do, places to see and it’s all-around just an amazing place to live.

Best part of this is my life has completely changed paths, and for the next couple years, maybe forever (depending on Law School), I am here to stay.  So, here’s to my 6 months in San Francisco. I couldn’t be a happier girl!

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Milestone Reached

  1. San Francisco is on my list of places to visit, so I do hope you stick around there so I can come visit you sometime! 😉 And you’re totally awesome for following your dreams.

    Like

Leave a Reply

