Life, Monday Inspiration

Monday Inspiration // ROAR

So little secret….

Every morning when I wake up and get ready for my day, I love to play Pop and/or Top 40 music. Don’t laugh… I have a fond place in my heart for this kinda music. And in the morning it helps get me moving with its up beat tempo. Lately my play list has been “The Top 100 Tracks Currently On Spotify,” it’s a pretty darn good mix, if I do say so myself.

Every morning I set the playlist to shuffle, turn up the volume and begin my morning routine. I’ve noticed the last couple of mornings when “Roar,” by Katy Perry plays, I can’t help but sing along and connect with the lyrics. There is just something about this song that does it for me.  When it came on this morning, I sat down and wrote out the lyrics that stood out to me the most. I wanted to try to analysis why this song was hitting me so hard.  It didn’t take long to figure it out.

Before I divulge why I am so into this song, here is a YouTube video of the song for you to watch/listen too (the music videos’ kinda cute):

“I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath, scared to rock the boat and make a mess, so I sit quietly, agreed politely, I guess I forgot I had a choice, I let you push me past the breaking point, I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything.” 

In this song, Katy is talking about a particular person who had held her down. For me in particular the thing that has held/is holding me down is my inner self. The person people don’t see. 

My path to where I am today has been a rough one. I’ve made plenty of bad decisions,  had a couple really bad relationships, an amazing one that ended in complete heartbreak, health issues, and the like.  And my inner self constantly reminds me of these things, telling me, I’m not worthy of anything better. Always creating a shadow of doubt, that things wont work out, when I start new things. I’ve always just sat back and let my inner self take the ropes, throwing myself into a mindset that, I wont succeed, I wont find love, my health issues wont get better, etc. My inner self was causing me to doubt myself, I was falling into a deep depression.

“You held me down but I got up already, brushing off the dust you hear my voice you hear that sound like thunder gonna shake the ground”

But, then at some point this past year, I found something inside me.

 “I got the eye of the tiger, the fire, dancing through the fire. Cause I am a champion and your going to hear me roar, louder, louder than the tiger, because I am the champion.” 

When I went through a heart wrenching break up back in October of last year, I really struggled with what I wanted and who I was. But it’s at that time that I think I finally found my fire.

“Now I’m floating like a butterfly, stinging like a bee I earned my stripes, I went from zero to my own hero, you held me down but I got up already brushing off the dust, you hear my voice, you hear that sound like thunder gonna shaken the ground. You held me down but I got up, get ready cause I’ve had enough, I see it all, I see it now. I’ve got the eye of the tiger” 

These last lyrics here are exactly what I am saying to myself. I have finally found the fire within myself to diminish the depressing inside me and find the “Tiger” within myself.  I have what it takes to overcome and/or do anything I set my mind too. With hard work and dedication I can overcome any obstacle large or small in any part of my life.

I am a champion and you’re going to hear me

R…O….A….R! 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

